Artful Impressions – Coliseum Sundown

The sun was going down, it was a warm afternoon, and I had been wandering the streets of Rome all day with Shiraine, we were having a ball…up until about 10 minutes previous to this image, we were kinda lost…had no idea where we were – and loving it. One of the last streets we decided to explore revealed at the end of it…the Coliseum. Lost no more…

I “played” while photographing this beautiful building….testing out different apertures, shutter speeds, and panning while walking along the street just opposite it, as people, and the traffic whooshed by me…At the time I photographed this I didn’t think much of it looking at the results on the back of the camera…I was just happy to be playing – but the more I saw it while editing, I’ve really fallen for it. It’s one of my favorites from the trip.

There is sun flare, and not a stitch of this image is sharp, but it “feels” like Rome to me. I captured the feeling of a sun setting on an ancient building sitting right in the midst of modern daily life as people, traffic and time rushed by.

Leave a Reply

