Le Marché St. George

Truth be known, I’ve mentioned this to a few friends, but I’ve been sitting on the need to write a post and share about the discovery of this gem of a café, until this morning, when I returned from yet another great visit. Today is the day.

My neighbour Jacqui introduced me to Marché St. George this past summer. It was like she couldn’t resist letting me in on a wonderful, well kept secret – “Hey, I found this fabulous café, we have to go for coffee there – you need to see this place!” Boy am I glad she did…

Located in a residential neighbourhood, on the corner of East 28th Ave. and St. George’s St., Le Marché St. George is housed in a renovated 100 year old building. From the minute I walked over the threshold, I was taken…I felt like I’d walked into a Parisian café and grocery. The rustic ambiance, the simple and sparse vintage decor, the fresh bread and selection of pastries, service on silver platters, the grocery portion that sells a variety of dry and gourmet canned goods, locally cured meats, artisan cheeses, organic produce, and a variety of international natural textiles…a feast for the eyes and senses!

Of course, doing what I do, I couldn’t help myself, I pulled out my iPhone and started snapping away…

Marché St. George has an informative blog that keeps you up to date on the newest events, products and news here. It has also received numerous mentions in columns and newspaper sections locally, and nationally including the Travel section of the New York Times – you can view that write up here.

I’ve had the pleasure of hanging out here several times, and interestingly, always with Jacqui. Because it’s situated in the midst of a residential neighbourhood, we’re almost always joined by other residents who frequent the café. This place seems to have created a strong community feel in this lovely environment that feeds both of us creatively. Juicy conversation, and ideas are rolling each time we sit down with a coffee here. I’m so grateful to have a unique place like this to go to…we need more of these types of places in our neighbourhood…

Please, check it out, I am sure you will enjoy it! And, Jacqui, thank you so much for the introduction and the wonderful times we have here 🙂 Here’s to many more! oxo

2 thoughts on “Le Marché St. George

Leave a comment